The East Central and Southern Africa College of Nursing (ECSACON) which is the professional body for nurses and midwives in ECSA region, aggregated nurses and midwives and nurse specialist such as theatre nurses, critical care nurse inTyolo district Malawi for two weeks from 6-17 November 2014 to join other health professionals including Surgeons , Physicians of different specialties such as orthopedic , urologists, cardiologists , Anesthetists and Physiotherapistsin providing medical and surgical services to more than 100 patients. The nurses and midwives played an important role in offering services right from the screening of patients, to theatre, critical care and general care in the wards under the leadership of Mr. Optatus Silanda a critical care nurse specialist from Tanzania.

The camp held in Malawi was the third one following others held in the Kingdoms of Lesotho and Swaziland in 2012 and 2013 respectively where by nurses and midwives played a key role in supporting the camp.

The Director General of ECSA Health Community Professor Yoswa Dambisya and presidents of ECSACON and College of Anesthesiology of East, Central and Southern Africa (CANESCA) and the Immediate past president of the College of Surgeons (COSECSA) was in attendance . During the handing over meeting, The President of ECSACON Mrs. Susan Otieno urged nurses and midwives to embrace team work and collaborative care which has shown to reduce stress and burnout among health workers. She reminded nurses and midwives to provide quality care both in the hospitals and households in the community in order to meet the changing realities of interdependent health demands of the region

She used the opportunity to appeal to the nurses and Midwives in the region to join and actively participate in ECSACON country chapters activities. She further said that by beingECSACON active members, the college would grow from strength to strength in representing nurses and midwives in the region

ECSACON mobilized nurses and midwives from its country chapters including, Swaziland, Malawi, Lesotho, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Zambia, Kenya, Tanzania and Uganda.



  • President of ECSACON receiving a certificate of appreciation from the Honourable Minister of Health for Republic of Malawi DR. Jean A. N Kalilani, M.P

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »